Leonidas Demetriades Eugenides was born in Athens in 1958. He has got B.Sc. in Economics from the University of Athens and M.Sc in Transport Economics from PCL of London. He is a Member of the Chartered Institute of Transport M.C.I.T. He has been elected Member of the Board of the Union of Greek Shipowners as from 1996, Secretary of the Union of the Greek Shipowners from February 2000 through February 2003 and Treasurer from February 2003 through February 2012.

Lars Robert PEDERSEN

Deputy Secretary General Lars Robert Pedersen is responsible for BIMCO's technical and operational activities involving all technical and nautical issues within the area of marine environment, ship safety and maritime security. Lars Robert is furthermore responsible BIMCO’s activity related to regulatory developments relevant for shipping at international, regional and national levels. In the past decade he has served on IMO expert groups on market-based measures and on the steering group for the IMO 2020 fuel oil availability study. Lars Robert has also chaired the Motorship Propulsion & Emissions Conference for the past many years. He joined BIMCO in early 2010 after a long career at A.P. Moller-Maersk (APMM). For more than 25 years he was involved in regulatory affairs at IMO level, technical management of the Maersk fleet of container ships and prior to that as seagoing engineer officer. Lars Robert holds an unlimited Chief Engineers license.


Tomas Heidar (Iceland) is Vice-President of the International Tribunal of the Law of the Sea (ITLOS). He has been Judge of the Tribunal since 2014 and was President of the ITLOS Chamber for Fisheries Disputes 2017-2020. He is a Member of the ITLOS Special Chamber in the Dispute concerning delimitation of the maritime boundary between Mauritius and Maldives in the Indian Ocean (Mauritius/Maldives). 


Lia Athanassiou is Professor of Commercial Law with senior full-time tenure at the Law School of the University of Athens, teaching mainly Shipping Law, Competition Law, Company Law as well as EU State Aids Law. She is also the Director of the Post Graduate Program on Business Law at the above University.


Lorenzo Schiano di Pepe is a Full Professor at the Department of Law of the University of Genoa where he teaches “European Union Law” (in Italian) and “International and European Law of the Sea” (in English). He is also a teacher of “Legal Aspects of Hydrography” at a master’s course programme in “Marine Geomatics” held at the Italian Navy’s Institute of Hydrography.


George Theocharidis is a Professor of Maritime Law & Policy at World Maritime University. He is Member of the Piraeus Law Bar and a qualified advocate before Areios Pagos (Supreme Court) with litigation practice. George is holder of LL.M. degree from the University of Cambridge (UK) and a Ph.D. from Aristotle University (Greece).

Vincent POWER

Dr. Vincent Power is bachelor graduate of University College Cork (Distinguished Alumnus), and Master and PhD graduate of Cambridge University. He is Adjunct Professor of Law at University College Cork and Visiting Professor of EU Law at Dalhousie University in Canada, while he also lectures at the Law Society of Ireland.


Victoria Athanassopoulou obtained her Law Degree at the Faculty of Law of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and her Ph.D in Commercial and Maritime Law at the University of Hamburg. In her Thesis “Schiffsunternehmen und Schiffsüberlassungsverträge” (Mohr Siebeck Verlag, Tübingen, 2005, 284 pages, Max-Planck Institut für ausländisches und internationales Privatrecht, Studien zum ausländischen und internationalen Privatrecht, 151) she introduces a fundamental new approach to the concept of the ship as an enterprise.


The Emeritus President of the Supreme Court (Areios Pagos) Iosif Tsalaganidis was born in Athens and started his judicial career as cadet judge of district court. He graduated Athens Law School with distinction in 1976 and he speaks English and German.


Dr George Leloudas is an Associate Professor at the Institute of International Shipping and Trade Law (IISTL) of Swansea University that he joined in 2011. He is a graduate of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. He holds LLM degrees in Commercial Law from the University of Bristol (England, 2002) and in Air and Space Law from the Institute of Air and Space Law of McGill University (Montreal, Canada, 2003). He also completed his PhD degree in air law at Trinity Hall, Cambridge University in 2009.

Page 1 of 4


Information - Registrations:

Juliana Berberi, Tel.: 210 3678967, E-mail juliber@nb.org

www.nb.org | www.nbcongress.gr